Share Your Experience

 




Robert Aikens

- Dec 14, 2017 11:26 AM EST

My wife and I came in December 13th for dinner it was extremely slow in the restaurant and our server was rude I am not racist but we had a colored girl and her hair was long I was afraid it was going to get into our food our server didn't even bring our food out another female who was waiting on the table next to us paid more attention to what was going on with us than our own server!!! Not to mention that while our server was away from our table we could clearly hear her swearing and using vulgar language we will never return to this restaurant again!!!

Ron Fargo

- Dec 12, 2017 10:20 AM EST

The food portions were meager, the hash browns were half burned on one side and uncooked on the other, the toast was not toasted completely and the toast had a swipe of butter down the middle with dry sides. I have patronized Grand Coney since you opened on Michigan St.. Like so many other restaurants you became somewhat popular and you let the quality of your meals drop and you got greedy and raised the prices. You may stay in business for a while but unless you improve drastically and reduce your prices you will eventually fail. The 28th St store is a good example. You went into a more expensive location and raised your prices. I drive by that store every other day but I will never stop, I also note the parking lot is always nearly empty. You catch a few unsuspecting people but they seldom return.. People want quality food at low prices and they don't want or need a premium location. Eight dollars for a breakfast is ridiculous so adding coffee or another drink brings the price to over ten dollars. The price of breakfast fare has stayed very low. The only price increase are the price of your wife's shopping trips, your cars, and mortgage. Ron Fargo

Shannette Buggs

- Dec 4, 2017 6:48 PM EST

I had the worst experience ever your owner treated us like dogs because they served us some months old bread for french toast and Jack beard at the location on 28th was very nasty and rude us I want corporate number asap!

Peter Z

- Dec 4, 2017 12:31 PM EST

Waited 45min-1 hour for breakfast to arrive from kitchen. Waitress only came to table twice. People sat after us received food first. Not good business.

Richard Machiele

- Nov 19, 2017 1:19 PM EST

Best diner style restaurant in the Grand Rapids area. They even go as far as to use Magnum coffee. All the meals are delicious but you have to try the briskets and Harvey. These are the lightest flakey biscuits maybe ever :).

Mark Good

- Nov 9, 2017 7:42 PM EST

Went to Grand Coney to check it out. Like red Hot Inn (+). Went to Leo's (sad). Clean place. Nice staff. Son loves chili dogs and so do my wife and I. But the prices were a little high. On a retired/disabled budget cannot afford to do this. Son would like to do it every week.

Randy A

- Nov 3, 2017 8:33 AM EDT

The employees are incredible. Food is good too.

Morgan Melcher

- Nov 2, 2017 3:17 PM EDT

Good afternoon, We just stopped in the 28th street and Cascade location for a quick bite to eat and bowl of soup. The chicken lemon rice soup was not as advertised it was a bowl of rice with zero broth and after one taste I could not eat any more of it. I asked the waitress, Kelsie, if this is what it was supposed to be like and she said yes. I said oh that's not what I was expecting and all she could respond with was "well that's what it is". Not once did she come to our table and to ask how everything was even though we were the only customers in the restaurant. Once she saw that I was visibly upset, I would assume one would ask if there was anything else she could get, definitely not the case. Terrible customer service. Needless to say we will not be coming back to this restaurant. Regards, Morgan

Steevee C

- Oct 29, 2017 4:07 AM EDT

I went to get food it's been over an hour and my server has been nothing but rude kaylee told me when coming in that I'm of least importance because I'm ordering Togo rather then the people sitting in the restaurant... also they don't answer the phrase ne

Stacy O

- Oct 29, 2017 3:55 AM EDT

I have been here many times but tonight it took me over an hour to get a Togo order and your servers were exceptionally rude and I say that being in the industry so I alllow a lot more then normal. Rude and at least an hour for food service

Justin

- Oct 28, 2017 12:23 AM EDT

I used to come to coney all the time. Nice little family place (I generally go to Allendale location). I have officially stopped coming now!! During that past couple months I have had a waitress named kailyn (sry for splelling). Fake fake fake. She has talked horribly to the kitchen staff loudly and has talked about other waitresses directly to us. The kitchen staff seems to be unsanitary after I observed one wipe him face and nose before bringing me my food. This is not the first time. I put most of it in a Togo box to feed my dog! That is sad what happened the this coney!!??? Where are your normal cooks? Wow just wow!

Dale Korhorn

- Oct 12, 2017 4:27 PM EDT

Laughable. I wrote a review a few weeks ago and gave you 2 stars. I see that it was changed to THREE stars. You are fake news!! Blast you on social media. Pissed off. Then the review I just posted about my latest experience got a “oops”. Really?? Try and ALWAYS go local. I’ll be going chain from now on and will tell everyone why. Incredible. Jeff Lobdell?? Seriously terrible everything about this.

Kim McKay

- Oct 12, 2017 9:12 AM EDT

Love your food but today there was a very rude man swearing, loudly, at a lady across the aisle from him. He dropped the F-bomb over and over. When I approached staff and asked whether they were going to do something she indicated she couldn't. When I asked if there was a Manager who could speak to him I was told there wasn't any in the restaurant. I don't blame staff so much as the fact that staff isn't trained to handle this kind of situation. Everyone in the restaurant was stunned by this guy.

Cheri Flory

- Oct 10, 2017 7:43 AM EDT

Whenever visiting Grand Rapids we always stop there at least once. My grand kids call it Hot cocoa since they say it's the best ever. Food is good too.

Dale Korhorn

- Sep 27, 2017 5:50 AM EDT

I order 4-8 large Greek salads w/ grilled chicken a week, all take out. I also order as many bowls of Lemon Chicken Soup. I have no complaints about the food. Best Greek salad and dressing. I'm addicted. However, when it comes to its preparation and service they are never consistent. Ever. I have ordered it the same way so many times, they should have a "key" they can press so it does not have to be explained over and over on the same order! NO beets. NO tomatoes, NO cukes. SUBSTITUE extra olives and feta cheese (you don't ever come close to putting the normal amount on consistently). Sometimes I have a full sliced chicken breast. Sometimes I have about a 1/2 a chicken breast. Sometimes I am charged for things I don't get (extra olives, extra dressing, extra feta--which I should not be charged for anyway since I eliminate the above mentioned items). The WORST thing is ordering it and told it will be 15-20 minutes and I show up 30 minutes later, stand around for another 15 minutes because they are never close to having it ready! I always check everything now and usually have to have mistakes corrected (the last time I had a waiter that gave me every excuse in the book while I observed a manager strolling around doing nothing while there were about 5 people in the whole place). No rush on anyones part, ever. I try to come when it isn't busy (usually after 7:30 pm) and I always have to wait and wait and wait. I tip BIG even on take out. Those tips ended Monday when I got all the excuses. On top of that, the bill is never, ever the same (once I was charged $5 for extra dressing that I didn't get (Sept 19), charged $2.50 for extra olives and never a deduction for the 3 lb. of stuff I don't want. 2 salads, 2 soups, $45.00. Ridiculous. The chicken was grizzly too. I called when I got home and their solution was to return at midnight for a replacement. How about someone jumps in a car and drives the 5 miles to my house to bring me good food and a refund? Love the food when it is right and good. Everyone is (mostly) nice. Prefer the ladies making my salads because they get it right more often than the guys (these guys need some training!). I have been going there since Jamie started the place (2003?). $45 isn't diner prices. I got $20 worth of food and was charged $45. I tipped $20 (my choice) and did not check the food--my fault but I should NOT have to EVER check my food order, should I?

Jessica Verhovsek

- Sep 23, 2017 4:29 PM EDT

Order the Detroit style meal deal and the skin of the hot dogs were so tough I couldn't even chew them. First visit and my last

DAVID

- Sep 16, 2017 12:48 AM EDT

Stopped here for breakfast. Ordered hash browns, 3 eggs (over easy), bacon, toast and coffee. PROBLEM!! The eggs were over Hard. I stopped the waitress, told her about the eggs and she responded "I'll tell the cook". She then hustled off never to return to our table. No coffee refill. No water refill. NO NOTHING! You can be sure I will never return to the Grand Coney Dinner on 401 28th Street again.

Liz Detz

- Sep 13, 2017 5:42 PM EDT

Nicole has the worst customer service skills I've ever experienced. So rude, I left without my takeout order. Since when are the server's allowed to decide who they will or will not help?

Jack Pross

- Aug 21, 2017 4:54 AM EDT

Food and service was good but the creepy manager was not nice to the waitress. We went back again and the other manager was creepy to us. We will not go back again!

Jack Pross

- Aug 21, 2017 4:54 AM EDT

Food and service was good but the creepy manager was not nice to the waitress. We went back again and the other manager was creepy to us. We will not go back again!

Jack Pross

- Aug 21, 2017 4:54 AM EDT

Food and service was good but the creepy manager was not nice to the waitress. We went back again and the other manager was creepy to us. We will not go back again!

Jack Pross

- Aug 21, 2017 4:54 AM EDT

Food and service was good but the creepy manager was not nice to the waitress. We went back again and the other manager was creepy to us. We will not go back again!

Michelle

- Aug 20, 2017 5:46 PM EDT

First time in there today , it was fun great place . Mike was our server and he was great guy , very friendly. Was not sure what to get and he recommended the Ruben sandwich, OMG was that soooo good . Best sandwich I have ever tasted. I am so glad that he recommended it .

Ryan

- Aug 16, 2017 4:24 AM EDT

It'd be a good idea to actually open at the times posted online or on the restaurant door in Allendale so customers don't make plans to eat there at 6 am but then the store isn't open. Or just change those posted times to reflect when the store IS open. Been there before and the food was good, but disappointed due to discordance between times posted and times actually open

Dick Savage

- Aug 11, 2017 11:36 AM EDT

First experience last weekend at your Allendale location. My waitress (Brittney) was awesome! Very professional, courteous and always smiled! The food was decent, but I've never had such great service! I would recommend the Allendale location to anyone! If you ever make it to Allendale, ask for Brittney and I promise you will have an amazing experience regarding how service should be when running out! Thanks!

Michelle Jewell

- Jul 20, 2017 8:25 AM EDT

Stopped here on out way home, after a long day at Michigan Adventure. Food was really good, we had chicken bacon mac, steak, chicken tenders, and deep fried pickles (they were awesome).

Emilee

- Jul 1, 2017 3:22 PM EDT

Our food was great, and server Kayla was great (Allendale), however when it came time to pay my card went through but my friends didn't. She had just used it some place before the restaurant. She told the server that she did indeed have money in her account bc she had gotten paid yesterday. The server was super nice about it and grabbed the manager. However, when the manager came by he slapped down the card on our table and was giving us an extremely hard time about her card being declined. Her phone had died while we were there and she said she had no cash on her. The manager was just horrible to us. It was a man in all black. My friend was upset at the way she was treated. I ended up paying for her so we could just get out of the there. I don't know if we caught him on a bad day or what but I've never been treated like this by any manager at a restaurant. I think he needs a change in attitude. Again, not the servers fault at all. We had great service. It was the manager who ruined it all for us.

Cathy DeHaan

- May 29, 2017 8:15 AM EDT

Thank you to Jack who made a simple breakfast into a great experience.